DTP Governance

Governance of the DTP reflects our joint commitment to facilitate doctoral training across the Partnership of the highest quality by adding value to our individual strengths in Bioscience research.

The DTP Executive Board spans the three partner universities and includes the DTP Leads who have extensive experience of postgraduate training. To reflect the triumvirate nature of our Partnership, the Chair is on a rotational basis.

The Executive Board is:

Professor Keith Lindsey, (Chair), DTP Lead Durham

Head of School of Biological & Biomedical Sciences, Durham University

Professor Andy Jones, DTP Lead Liverpool

Professor of bioinformatics, Institute of Integrative Biology, University of Liverpool

Professor John Kirby, DTP lead Newcastle

Dean of Postgraduate Studies, Faculty of Medical Sciences, Newcastle University

DTP Cohort Coordinators:

Professor Rus Hoelzel

School of Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Durham University

Dr Mal Horsburgh

Director of Masters in Microbiology/Microbial Biotechnology, Institute of Integrative Biology, University of Liverpool

Dr Tim Cheek

Deputy Director, Institute for Cell and Molecular Biosciences, Newcastle University

Academic Representative:

Dr Nadja Reissland

Deputy Head of Faculty (Postgraduate), Faculty of Science, Durham University

Dr Gina Pinchbeck

Institute of Infection and Global Health, University of Liverpool

Professor Rob Edwards

Head of the School of Natural and Environmental Sciences, Newcastle University

Researcher Development Leads:

Dr Richy Hetherington

NLD BBSRC DTP Skills Development Lead, Lecturer in Researcher Development , Faculty of Medical Sciences, Newcastle University

Dr Sam Nolan

University Director of Postgraduate Training, Durham University

Dr Stephen Bickerstaff

Head of PGR Development, University of Liverpool

DTP Administrative Lead:

Miss Lizzie Amies (Graduate School, Faculty of Medical Sciences, Newcastle; the administrative lead organisation for the DTP is Newcastle)


NLD BBSRC DTP - Welcome to our 2019 cohort

09 October 2019

The NLD BSRC DTP Management Committee offers a warm welcome to our students starting in September 2019…

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.